The Kilnamartyra Exile

Foinse: Guth ar Fán (Máire Ní Chéilleachair)

I am a lonely exile who left my own dear nation
For to seek a situation in a land across the foam
I sailed away from Erin, bound for the land of liberty
And for years I have been a stranger in my own dear Irish home
Where once I lived contentedly, the friends I loved surrounded me
Care nor grief never troubled me nor made my heart feel sore
But now my days are over and I’m parted from my country
And Kilnamartyra’s homely face my eyes will see no more

I travelled to Columbia all toil and danger scorning
From its furthest eastern border way westward to the deep
The broad extensive cotton fields and the plains of Alabama
The mines of lone Montana and the Rockies wild and steep
I hunted for prosperity but still it has eluded me
Black misfortune followed me, no matter where I would roam
And ofttimes in my anguish I cursed the fate that parted me
From the comrades of my boyhood and my own dear Irish home

Twas there my heart felt happy until I took the notion
For to go across the ocean from the land that gave me birth
But sorrow’s dark and dismal cloud never cast its shadow over me
For I knew of pleasure only whilst I lived on Irish earth
Love of money tempted me far from my cabin home to flee
And go across the raging sea in search of golden store
I sailed away from Erin, bound for the land of liberty
And bade my friends in Ireland adieu for evermore

Sweet boyish recollections they ever fondly bond me
To the friends I left behind me far o’er the raging foam
The sound of merry voices keep rushing through my memory
In my heart I’m sadly thinking I ne’er will see them more
The friends that once delighted me in fancy dreams I still can see
Around the cabin fire with me when our daily toil was o’er
But until my days are over and death has come and taken me
I fondly will remember thee, dear land that I adore

Ranganna: Amhránaíocht. Clibeanna: . Buan-nasc.

Freagra

